Yellow Bullet Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering if anyone on here has gone to Wyotech. I have a 14 year old that wants to go. He is a smart one, allways in the top 2 of his class. He wants to get into mechanics and get on a race team somehow. Just need some opinions and advice. Thanks.

·
Registered
426 Posts
i wouldnt do it. i went to UTI and i have some friends that went to wyotech...i look back at it wishing i did somthing else. i havent worked on cars since i graduated there lol if your kid is smart he will be better off in a different career or mech. engineer like jon volk said.

·
Registered
1,134 Posts
If hes smart he should know that you arent going to get rich being a mechanic. Send him somewhere for a real degree in engineering, etc. A guy with a good science degree can be worth more to any race team than a guy that can turn a wrench.

·
Registered
434 Posts
those auto tech schools are nothing more than money machines for the people who run them. And then you have the tool supplyers who prey on the kids with their promises of discounts on tools, so they leave school with another 10 grand in debt to go work an $8/hr job. I'd bet that only 1/4 of grads actually work in their fields after graduation.

·
Registered
436 Posts
i went to wyotech..took collision and chassis fabrication. And I don’t work in the field. The only good thing is I got all my ICAR certs, but they aren't doing me any good.

·
Registered
447 Posts