Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am an Indiana resident and have the Indiana lifetime ccw permit. There is no training required to get the CCW in Indiana, and it is not accepted in alot of states. I work and spend alot of time in Ohio, but they dont accept the Indiana CCW. The Ohio Atorney General actually called me back after I emailed them to see if there was any way to get a permit to carry in Ohio. He informed me that I could not get an Ohio permit without being an Ohio resident, but I COULD get one from either Florida or Utah as a non-resident and that is accepted by Ohio.

So now, I need to take an NRA (or other) training/safety class and get a Florida non-resident CCW permit.

Has anyone else done this? Is there anything I should be aware of in getting a second CCW?

·
Registered
1,375 Posts
I see the Utah permit being mentioned a lot by people who need multiple state permits. I would see which permit
has reciprocity in the most states and get that one (as long as it includes Ohio).

·
Registered
678 Posts
I have 3 CCW permits, my state (NE), Utah and N H. I did have a professional permit for Iowa for non-resident which now takes my Nebraska one as of the first of this year. Can get the Florida non-resident CCW permit if I send them $117.00 and my paper work in. Your state needs to update it's requirements for getting a permit as far as training and range testing (shooting) to meet other state's standards. I'm a N.R.A. certified Pistol, Rifle, Home Firearms Safety Instructor and a Chief Range Safety Officer (instructor). Check with the N.R.A. website for a instructor in your area and take the courses. All training adds to your skill and knowledge of firearms, their operations and proper handling" Safety". You can't lose by having it.

·
Dick for hire
17,960 Posts