Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been fighting this engine for a few years and have had limited time to run it, I have had zero data logging info and have been at it blind. I did have it on a chassis dyno and it made 652 peak rpm was 6500 and it started to fall off. I think I had some ignition problems with the car and possibly some battery voltage issues 3500 lb race weight I have been mid 5.70s. The Engine is a 14.2:1 10.2 deck 4.5x4.5 572 with shelf Brodix Head Hunter 383 MC Heads. Dart tunnel ram with 2 1050 Ultra Hp Dominators. 871/823 lift 283/304 dur 113 lobe sep installed @111 it had a msd 8570 small cap distributor and a 7al box. This Year I am using a Link Ecu to control the ignition and data log. I put a crank trigger on it and I'm running a coil near plug setup on a 16v system also running q16. I will know more in a few week when everything is up and going but I feel like it should have made power at high rpm than 6500 am I wrong? I'm hoping it was a ignition deal. What should this setup make for power? Sorry for my rambling at work and its nice out I should be in the garage!!!!

·
Registered
1,247 Posts
Q16 is wasted on a 14.2 motor,probably make more power on c12. My 355 headed low deck 572 makes peak at 7500 with less cam....on engine Dyno it should make 980 to 1000....

·
Registered
1,214 Posts
I agree , Q16 is the wrong fuel for that engine. I think you are a 100HP low on the chassis dyno (650 versus 750+)where the engine should be at 1000HP (engine dyno). Obviously that combo should get to 7500rpm and that probably accounts for 50 or so HP of the loss, but there could be some of the ignition and fuel issues you speak of and we don't really have the real numbers on the cam. The head cfms on those Brodix heads are more than enough to get the engine to 7500 rpms and 1000HP if the cam is optimum and the tune is right.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #10