Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
726 Posts
Monty if you could make this into a sticky that would be great.

There is a GREAT deal of confusion on the Cam Master Jay name I use. Some feel as though I made it up and I am just *tooting* my own horn. That's funny. Others take it for what it actually is. A hook. A jingle. Name recognition.

In a brief nutshell, here is the story.......

I graduated from Eastern Michigan University in 1985. I graduated with a degree in Communications. I *had* a Physics major going and I chaged my mind late in my junior year/early senior year. My brother was in band (as he still is today). I ran sound for the band and I DJ'ed music on the band's breaks. Eventually I had my own mobile DJ business. I had aspirations of being on the radio. Hmmm.......Radio, DJ business, ah hell, I need a degree in Communications! One of the dumbest things I have ever done, consciencely. I did have all of my prerequisites completed in physics. I have thought about going back to school.......

Anyways.

Well because radio DJ's make so much money (LOL) I realized that being a radio jock was not where I wanted to go. Typical 22 year old decision. Now as I DJ'ed through the 1980's & 1990's obviously everyone has heard of the late "Jam Master Jay" from Run DMC. Yes I had Technics 1200's. Yes I scratched and beat mixed. I DJ'ed for years as the house DJ at 2 clubs here in Ann Arbor (Dooley's and the Nectarine Ballroom) as well. All of my friends used to say that it was unfortunate that the DJ name "Jam Master Jay" was already taken.

And that was how I made a living through the 1980's. All the while working on car junk. Fast forward.......