Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a set of losito 9 degree ford billet heads. Bought from Bennett racing. The victory titanium intake valves keep breaking an inch below the retainer. This is now the third time.

I called victory they seem quite interested in helping look at them. The machine shop thinks it was a bad batch of valves or some coinciding harmonic.

It only turns 8-8500 rpm, and happens in less than 15 runs.

I was just curious if anyone else has had valves break an inch down from the retainer?

Any comments on why ?

It has Jessel .927 key way lifters. 3/8 to 7/16 rods TD shafts. Manley next tek springs. 55mm cAm.

·
Registered
643 Posts
Do the springs on the outside diameter touch the head anywhere ?

We had this happen once and it was determined that the springs were rubbing the heads
and side loading the valve.

Jake

·
Registered
13,484 Posts
when you say / referr to the breakage occurring at an inch below the retainer...does that mean that it is the area inside the valve guide or is it just above where the guide stops. we have seen damage right where the guide stops...........distress... because the geometry was real bad with the roller wheel running off the edge of valvestem and causing great amount of side loading...at maximum lift.....

·
Super Moderator
34,713 Posts
Man it's like Taboo to even talk about breaking valves.

Check your geometry, check for any kind of rocker arm bind or spring bind or alignment/flatness issue to valve tip.

To say a bad batch? I don't know if that's even possible?

·
Registered
1,224 Posts
I would look at spring bind first. This seems to be the most common mode.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Do the springs on the outside diameter touch the head anywhere ?

We had this happen once and it was determined that the springs were rubbing the heads
and side loading the valve.

Jake
I appreciate the info jake, I am going to check. Thank you.

·