Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
9,269 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so, I'm new at checking springs. Purchased a LSM on head valve spring checker. Should I expect to see a difference checking them hot to checking them cold? If so, how much? I'm gonna check when I checking lash which, is going to be hot.
I'm thinking when they are hot, they relax a bit? :smt102

·
Registered
2,546 Posts
No, there won't be a noticeable difference in spring pressure between hot springs and cold (room temp) springs. No relaxation when they get hot (normal operating temperature).

·
Registered
3,205 Posts
^^^^^^^ Ya, what Bill said.....

What's more important is making sure that your new pull tester is actually calibrated with your set up, most aren't. The best way it to have a spring that you know what the pressure is at your installed height. Then put it on the engine and check the tester and calibrate it from there. Unfortunately due to different rocker arm configurations, different fulcrum lengths and rocker ratios. Pull testers are not a pull out of the box and just use kind of tool.

Nick

·
Registered
2,654 Posts
Ok so, I'm new at checking springs. Purchased a LSM on head valve spring checker. Should I expect to see a difference checking them hot to checking them cold? If so, how much? I'm gonna check when I checking lash which, is going to be hot.
I'm thinking when they are hot, they relax a bit? :smt102

I would suggest, get the engine up to temp, lash a few cylinders then come back the next day to see what the cold lash has settled into.

Lash all the valves to the cold number.
Let's you take you're time lashing and, checking spring pressure's without working on one bank while the other side is cooling down.

Jim

·
Registered
9,269 Posts
Discussion Starter #5