Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
268 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks.

Dyno tuning a customer car at the shop with two things new to me.
Holley Dominator EFI and methanol fuel. It's non intercooled.

I've tuned a number of E85 cars both on the dyno and at the track with good results.
Kind of in uncharted territory here.

The Holley has been a challenge as I'm new to it. But it's going fine. In fact it's pretty cool. Totally diff from factory ECU tuning. GM and Dodge btw.

I researched methanol. Stoich is 6.4. Holley doesn't support Lambda tuning, so AFR it is.
Converted the tune from gas to meth, fired right up. Poking the Methanol fuel choice is puzzling as it did nothing to the fuel tables...….oh well.

Anyway, twin turbo LS. 220lb injectors, Holley brushless pump.

Starting on gate pressure. 6 psi.

Sadly, I don't know the engine specs. Neither does the owner.

I set the fueling to be 5 afr in boost trending to 4.5 afr at higher boost. At 6 psi it's 4.9.
Ballpark?

Timing I always start conservative. So 15 degrees. I bet that is way too low. Chassis dyno, first pull was pretty weak.
Sadly, and scary, right rear slick went flat that pull and my day was done.
We didn't build this car...….it's a bit rough.

So just looking for a smidge of advice on AFR and Timing as I progress.

And hoping the fumes don't kill me...….

Ron

·
Registered
669 Posts
Best advise I can give you is to look in the base cals that come with the holley. Look at the sbc 427ci methanol twin turbo file. It has a decent base of where you should start as far as commanded AFR and fuel flow numbers to input into the car. Timing is obviously a bit more sensitive with an LS combo so start safe there. Make sure the gain values are set reasonably in the closed loop control. Creep up on it....

·
Registered
1,396 Posts
I'm going through same thing...
I'd be happy to share my tune if you want.
Currently mine is very happy at 22psi on the street. Zero traction....lol