Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been considering switching from nitrous to a turbo set up on my sbf fox mustang. Current combination is a 352 with a Dart block and scat stroker kit, CP pistons. 13:1 compression. TFS high sports. Super Victor and a 950 Holley carb. Single stage fogger system. C4 Transmission and Moser 9 inch rear with 4:30 gears. Ladder bars and 10.5 inch tires.
I have no experience with turbos whatsoever. Can someone recommend some good books or good articles to read before starting the turbo conversion? Are there any kits that would work or are most systems pieced together? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
16,266 Posts
I've been considering switching from nitrous to a turbo set up on my sbf fox mustang. Current combination is a 352 with a Dart block and scat stroker kit, CP pistons. 13:1 compression. TFS high sports. Super Victor and a 950 Holley carb. Single stage fogger system. C4 Transmission and Moser 9 inch rear with 4:30 gears. Ladder bars and 10.5 inch tires.
I have no experience with turbos whatsoever. Can someone recommend some good books or good articles to read before starting the turbo conversion? Are there any kits that would work or are most systems pieced together? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Kits are available for moderate power systems (<1000 hp). For higher power levels, most systems are hand built using a combination of components that are available either already built (like turbo exhaust headers or intercoolers) or are fabbed from scratch. A lot of decisions depend on personal preference and how "streetable" a car is expected to be.

Here is some basic info to start with.

https://www.garrettmotion.com/turbocharger-technology/how-a-turbo-works/

·
Registered
16,054 Posts
It would be easier for you to go with a blower.