Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
878 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been a machinist for 18 years. I have been thinking of changing careers to auto sales. Is there anyone who is in this field or has been part of this field? I have been in the tire and service end of automotive field when I was younger and part time here and there and did pretty good. It scares me though about working on commission and going without a check but it is something I have always thought about doing. I need atleast 50000 a year to make ends meet.

·
www.ULTRA-CARBON.com
12,739 Posts
Forget it. Only the really slimy, OR really, really GOOD salesmen with years of sales experience make that kind of money. Car dealerships are built on the backs of guys who are under constant threat of being fired for not making enough sales. Is that really how you want to live?

·
Registered
999 Posts
Are you burnt out on the machinist career? My company is in.need of machinist an tool&die people.

·
The Cuban
2,806 Posts
I'm a machinist & I can see the "burnt out" feeling, but my dads being selling cars for 20+ years and I would NEVER get in auto sales, the big dealers use you for 3 months & kick you to curb. I don't see selling cars as "steady paycheck" at all

·
Age of Acquiescence
31,466 Posts
Getting into Car Sales, you will not make that kind of money anytime soon unless you're damn good.

I have had numerous friends do car sales, and the ONE guy I know that is doing it the longest is a Sales Car manager making ~$75K @ Hyundai
He worked at Saturn before that. He was the internet sales manager at Hyundai, and his motto was VOLUME, and each sale was a low commission,
but ALOT of the. Corporate likes that. The other guy I knew who became a finance manager was doing equally as well but was a cokehead and got fired.

My cousin Tank who did motorcycle sales for Chicago Cycle who turned into the Finance Manager there, his best year he did $180,000