Yellow Bullet Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Ladies and Gentlemen.

My first post here. I have a question about setting up a front engine car with a heavier engine. The car is a 1986 Mercedes Benz 560SL with an M120 V12 from a 1996 SL600. I have been driving this car around for about 15 years now and all runs well. I have had several amateur drivers test it out on the road and they all come back with the same conclusion, that the car runs well balanced and about the only thing they would do is put in stiffer springs and bars to firm up the car like there own track cars. Although none of these drivers has taken it on highways at high speeds.

But I'm not looking for a track car ride. The engine is powerful and smooth with a linear sedate 389 HP, with a nice note.

One of the things I notice is that there appears to be instability at high speeds. The installation of the V12 engine added ~ 300Lb over the front axle, between the engine, transmission and big breaks. All other suspension components are stock with the exception of heavier coil springs up front to recover the ride height. It appears to me, and I am not a driver, that when going down the highway and trying to follow a curve in the road as say 75 MPH, The car wants to keep turning tighter with neutral power. I have to back off on the wheel a bit and sometimes I find myself oscillating back and fourth with the wheel to hold a line. I believe that is called over steer.

So my question are:

1) Is that oversteer?
2) If it is oversteer, would that be the expected result of a heavier engine?
3) Best way to correct for it?

The stock 560SL uses 29PSI tire pressure up front and 34PSI in the back. I am currently running 32/32

Thanks in advance.
John

Land vehicle Car Vehicle Tire Wheel

Car Vehicle Grille Motor vehicle Hood

·
Registered
19,463 Posts