Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, here's the deal, pulling the ole dragster into the trailer and came to a sudden screetching hault. Jumped out to see WTF and noticed i didn't have the trailer tongue jacked high enough and the middle of the dragster was stuck at the back door/trailer floor intersection. Of course i drove the damn thing into the trailr right on top of one of the D-rings that i put in with grade -8 bolts in stead of rounded head lag bolts. So, the bolt rashed up the aero lip of my dragster pretty damn bad.

I'm a body man by trade, but went to school to be an Engineer so i've been out of main stream body work for quite a while 10+ years. I still fiddle with my own stuff and do a few jobs for friends but not doing it for a living these days. I know from experience on my brother's car (we did the same thing to his the first night we got it home) that the aluminum on these cars is very hard to straighten due to it work hardeing when you try to beat/bend it back into place (i learned a little in college).

Now my question to the body men/custom guys out there is this:

Is there something i can do to make this aluminum a little easier to move/straighten and get it close to its original shape before i put bondo down?

I think i have seen someone on one of those custom bike shows using an acetelyne torch without oxygen to heat the aluminum up a little before starting to bend it into the desired shape but figured i'd check here first before i go heating the shit out of the panel and totally f-ing it up beyond all chances of being repaired.