Yellow Bullet Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,
I'm new to auto trannys and am thus looking for advice. I just want to make a good purchase. I can get a what I think is a good deal on TH400 with transbrake for $1200 shipped. The tranny is supposedly rated @ 950 hp.

I will be using this tranny behind turbocharged 2jzGE
that will produce 800 to 850 whp through a manual tranny. This will go into a 1990 240sx that could weigh as much as 2800 lbs. Looking to get into the 8's. I plan on spolling the turbo on nitrous.

BTW I will be using an ATI adaptor kit to mate the 2JZ to the TH400. The kit includes a 9 inch 4000 rpm hybrid converter.

Below are the specs as advertised. Are there any specific questions I need to ask this seller concerning the specs.
Does this sound like a 950 hp TH400

• [*]High energy clutches utilized in all locations
    [*]Heavy duty case snap ring
    [*]New low/reverse band
    [*]Heavy duty intermediate band
    [*]Heavy duty 4L80-E direct drum
    [*]34 element intermediate sprag
    [*]Heavy duty spiral sprag retainer lock ring
    [*]Heat treated sprag race
    [*]Internal components and case are machined to allow Torrington bearings in all critical locations
    [*]All plastic washers upgraded to sintered bronze replacements
    [*]All critical support bushings are replaced
    [*]Heat treated stator support
    [*]New precision clearanced pump gearset
    [*]New high performance pressure regulator boost valve
    [*]Heavy duty pressure regulator spring
    [*]Revised lube circuit
    [*]Recalibrated manual/automatic valve body
    [*]High flow filter
    [*]Factory style deep pan w/ magnet
    [*]Transbrake valve body - Full tree

·
Super Moderator
19,972 Posts
Which one is rated to 950hp? Honestly its just a list of parts that make no sense. Get the real list and the real price for what you think you need and post it for evaluation.
This list doesn't work.