Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a 2004 lq9 from a silverado ss truck, my question is will the stock truck oil pan work in my 69 chevelle? next thing is how do you think it would run with a super vic and headers and a cam? any ideas on the cam choice would really help me. i'm new to the ls engine world and could really use some help. thanks.

·
Registered
1,623 Posts
Are you going efi with the vic jr?

I do not think the factory truck pan will work with out some modifications. The LH8 pan from GM works very very nice. I can get you some information on it and a guy that sell it all as a "kit", if you would like.

·
Registered
571 Posts
I have a LQ4 and the truck pan seems to sit pretty low in my C10. I think the motor mounts/adapters can change it a little bit. I went from the thinner carshopinc mounts to a set of thick S&W adapters and it raised the engine up a good bit. It allowed better header to frame/control arm clearance. I would've stuck with the carshopinc adapters, but they didn't offer the 1" setback adapters at the time.
There's a few members on LS1tech that have LS motors in their chevelles, maybe you could go over there and ask around in the conversion/hybrid section. I think remember them saying the H2 pan worked better like novaflash2002 said.

·
Registered
1,623 Posts
I have a LQ4 and the truck pan seems to sit pretty low in my C10. I think the motor mounts/adapters can change it a little bit. I went from the thinner carshopinc mounts to a set of thick S&W adapters and it raised the engine up a good bit. It allowed better header to frame/control arm clearance. I would've stuck with the carshopinc adapters, but they didn't offer the 1" setback adapters at the time.