Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2,397 Posts
It's an investment that pays back over time. You can currently get Government grants to offset initial costs but these grants are disappearing quickly. If you install an array that has more capacity than your actual KVH demand, your local power company buys the overage and sends you check. Your location is important. If you're in Seattle, Washington it's pointless. If you live in an area with an average high percentage of daily clear skies it's more worthwhile.

·
Registered
2,397 Posts
Do a Google search for "Solar energy forum" an you may be surprised at how many exist. Every question you could possibly think to ask can be answered in these forums.

·
Registered
5,393 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks,Im a remodel contractor and I have a costomer thats interested in having this done but I dont know anything about it.Im looking for someone that does this in georgia.

·
time to go racing yet ?
35,173 Posts
i would opt for wind power , they can work anytime of the day and year , thats what im looking to do for an off grid house in the future .

·
Registered
2,397 Posts
i would opt for wind power , they can work anytime of the day and year , thats what im looking to do for an off grid house in the future .
A few things to consider......First and foremost would be local regulations regarding height restrictions and noise ordinance. Wind turbines are VERY loud. They generate high decibel, low frequency waves that penetrates most conventional structures for miles. Height restrictions are important because wind loses velocity the closer it gets to the ground. You need height. And last, but most obviously, you need a high average wind speed.

·
time to go racing yet ?
35,173 Posts