Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
670 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering how much power can be had by going with a bigger bore on a forced induction setup? Small block ford 8.2 currently 4.030 thinking about going 4.125 bore will keep the same stroke which is 3.25 so with the bigger bore i would have 347 ci as of right now im 331 ci. is it worth spending $2000 for for the extra 16 ci
Thanks.

·
Registered
607 Posts
I have no experience with your particular application, but I know there is a noticable difference in the power of a 5.3 LS with a 3.780 bore vs and 6.0 with a 4" bore. The larger bore opens up around the valves and usually lets the heads breathe better in most applications.

·
Registered
116 Posts
Does the 331 need a rebuild yet? I thought about doing this on my last rebuild but decided against it just because I want the additional sealing surface for the HG's and the extra meat for future rebuilds. But then again mine is just a toy and I don't need a maxed out combo. Just my opinion but I can't imaging the power gain being worth doing it unless it's time for new pistons/freshen up anyways.

Guess it all depends on how bad you need the power and if you have already hit all the lower hanging fruit?

Assuming you are making 3 hp per cu/in now I would think you could plan on another 48hp (plus more if the valve shroud issue was really a hold back.

·
Registered
3,505 Posts
Not worth doing. Keep the HG sealed by running a smaller bore. Spool up is about the only gain that I've seen from more CI. The turbo limits HP..

·
Registered
670 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I have no experience with your particular application, but I know there is a noticable difference in the power of a 5.3 LS with a 3.780 bore vs and 6.0 with a 4" bore. The larger bore opens up around the valves and usually lets the heads breathe better in most applications.
Hmm thats interesting, i would like to un shroud the valves
Thanks.

·
Registered
670 Posts