Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Fastest mustang roller
3,005 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I enjoy shooting and I work at a prison and by their standards I'm a pistol expert, I know by competition standards I suck. Right now I own a M&P 40c a Para GI Expert 45, and a sig pro 2022. there are some local guys that have competitions and I would probably use my m&p or borrow my fathers XDm 40.

What do you guys think is a good comp pistol starter. I like the MP's and would consider getting a fullsize. Any advice are pointers you guys could give me on improving or gun choice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
6,133 Posts
What are you looking to compete in? IPSC, IDPA, three gun matches, open classes, limited classes, semi auto, wheel gun, etc.

·
Fastest mustang roller
3,005 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Its an open class that they shoot around here. No specified caliber for the class I want to enter.

·
Registered
986 Posts
Look at the Sig "Mosquito"... It's got a good feel, good balance, and shoots .22 long rifle so you can plink all day and get all the practice you want CHEAP!!! 550 rounds for less than $20..

My next choice would be something in 9mm......again for the cheaper ammo. I got through a MINIMUM of 100 rounds a week so the cost of ammo can add up pretty quick.

Good luck and most importantly, be safe and have fun!!!

·
I have a liter of cola
7,101 Posts
I used to shoot in multiple leagues a week and I had more fun shooting my .22's than anything. We had an open class that I used an open sighted Smith Mod 41 in w/ high rise grips and weights w/extented front sight. I also used an original Ruger Mark I in another class , bone stock. It was the cheapest fun I ever had. Most of the guys either shot Mod 41's or Walthers in the open class. I currently have a Smith 22A that I play with....however I am not happy with the recoil spring set-up it has. If I were to get back into something like this again I would drag out the 41 or get an older Walther