Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
876 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got a call to have a second interview for a service advisor and or writer at a large multiline dealership. Does anybody here do this ? what are the pro's and cons of it? How are your wages determined? Since I was layed off from my previous job last Sep. I need a full time job with some benifits. I have been working a construction job now (driving a semi gravel truck) but it is only seasonal and no benifits. Give me some advice guys. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
81 Posts
I have been writing service for Ford dealers since '98 (With a couple of years as a manager, in the middle); and I, personally, love the job. If you are a car guy, and obviously you are-or you wouldn't be on the Bullet, it is great. One thing you need, though, is thick skin. Some customers will berate you. Some techs will get on your case. Just don't take it personally. As a service advisor, you are simply the 'middle man'. When someone gets upset, it's usually at the situation-not at you personally. One tip, though: The higher-line the dealer, the bigger pain in the ass the customers have a potential to be. Kind of curious what manufacturers you would be working with.

As for wages, different places have different pay plans. I have worked for everything from straight salary, when I started out, to 100% commission where I am now. Most places will give you a base salary, and add a bonus once a month. this bonus is typically a percentage of the shop's profit. The way my commission works right now is-I get a set amount (goes up depending on individual sales) of anywhere from $1.35 to $2.00 for every billed hour that the shop turns. Doesn't sound like much; but I have made very good money (for a guy with no college degree) when times were good. Used to pull down $1300-$1500 a week, before taxes. That has dropped to about $600-$1000 per week, in these depressed economic times; but still not bad.