Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
491 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Going to a 9" rearend and have no experience with them. Car is 3,480 lbs, Runs 5:80's NA. Planning on a 200 shot. 10.5 tire. What I need to know is the best spline, axle bearing, and third member to run. Planing on ordering a braced up housing and any advice to get the correct setup would be appreciated.

·
Registered
145 Posts
Going to a 9" rearend and have no experience with them. Car is 3,480 lbs, Runs 5:80's NA. Planning on a 200 shot. 10.5 tire. What I need to know is the best spline, axle bearing, and third member to run. Planing on ordering a braced up housing and any advice to get the correct setup would be appreciated.
I’m far from an expert on this but am currently going through upgrading my axles and center section. I seriously doubt any manufacturer would recommend less than 35 spline based on multiple conversations I had about my setup because I’ll weigh almost 1,000lbs less than you and make less power than you will on nitrous and I was told I needed 35 spline or larger. I ended up going with gun drilled 40 spline Strange axles because they are stronger and not much more expensive than 35 spline and lighter than the solid 33 I was running. For the center section I went with Strange Pro HD 3.812 bearing with steel spool and pro gears. I’m thinking this setup will handle anything I’ll ever throw at it.

·
Registered
145 Posts
Will a 35 spline spool fit into a factory center or does the 35 spline require a aftermarket center?
Mark Williams makes an axle kit to use 35 spline in a 3.062 but most manufacturers require a 3.250 case. If you don’t already have the center you would be much better off to get one with the larger bearing.

·
Banksters Paradise
7,785 Posts