Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 85 Posts

·
Registered
1,953 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
can anyone give me any advice on this rifle(good and bad)and what scope and bi-pod and any other accessories would be a good choice for the money for making it a descent long range gun....i'm new to rifles and any info would help...thanks

·
I have a liter of cola
7,101 Posts
One of the best out of the box rifles on the market. The Accu-Trigger is the tits. PERIOD.

What exactly do you mean by "long range", this will effect the choice of glass suggestions. But if you stick with Leupold or Night Force, you will be in the area of paying around the same if not more for the glass than the rifle.

If you are looking for a 1000 yard paper puncher then there are other rifles in the Savage line-up I would go to first. If you are looking for a long range hunting rifle (up to 500 yds), then you are in the ballpark.

My mentality is if I am shooting 1000 yards at an animal then I need to re-evaluate my hunting skills. I won't take a shot at an animal over 300 yds. Not because of lack of skill...but I like to actually test my hunting abilities. For me it is all about the stalk. And actually I have never taken an animal at over 150 yrds. But I sight my rifle in at 300. (just in case)

But I am by no means set in my ways of thinking...so I always enjoy questions like yours. Never fails that I learn something new from someone on here that broadens my horizons.

·
Registered
6,137 Posts

·
Slow Poke
2,060 Posts
I would also look at the Rem 5R Milspec. For under $1200 I don't think you will find a better long range .308 rifle.

http://www.snipercountry.com/InReviews/Rem_M700_StainlessSpecial5RMilspec.asp