Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
500 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I seen where some one was a saturn tech but cant find the post .search turned up 0 posts.the a/c will not come on on my 2000 ls1 saturn.I know it could be to low on freon. bought a couple cans of 134a for it .I can not get the compressor to kick on even by crossing out like on other systems.checked relays and fuses they are all good.dont know what else to do .all help is greatly appreciated

·
Bracket racer
5,188 Posts
Worked on one with same issue. The compressor clutch wen bad. Ohm out the clutch. Probably has an open coil. The compressor is expensive. Find a junkyard compressor and you can swap the clutch on the car and never have to discharge the freon.

·
Registered
4,407 Posts
I used to be a Saturn tech, yes check power and ground at the compressor, and ohm out the coil. And yes go to the junkyard find a a compressor there. I've owned 3 saturns and whenever the compressors start leaking I just go to my local pick and pull on 1/2 price day and nab a compressor!

·
Registered
530 Posts
Comp clutch coils go out alot. check for power on the green wire. can replace the clutch pretty easliy

·
Registered
500 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
no power on the green wire .clutch ohmed good ,no short in wire between compressor and fuse box ,could the diode be bad it ohms high in the 1000s range. Im at a loss

·
Registered
3,300 Posts
if you have a scanner,you can check to see if the ecm is commanding the ac clutch to engage.if you don't have a scanner and have a power probe you can chek for continuity at the compressor and power it up that way.if you don't have a power probe,you can jump the ac relay on terminal 87/30 which should be diagnal to each other.

·
Registered
3,300 Posts
i have what ever info you need as far as wiring and what not.let me know if ya need something

·
Registered
14,490 Posts