RL 17 powder

.010 off the lands

target @ 65 yards

double and triple checked the bedding, action screws and scope mounts

trigger was modified and is light and crisp

Savage model 16 FCSS

Leupold VX-III 3x9

4-7 keystones

I am no expert, but I find it hard to believe that .5 grains of powder made that much of a difference between 63.5 and 64. I know the bullet is a bit light for the caliber, but I am debating stepping up the weight.

I still have 4 different charge weights of H4831sc to try out.

What do y'all think?

·
Registered
4,700 Posts
Was the 63.5 grain load shot first from a cold barrel?

·
Bovine Scatologist
17,834 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yes, but I never let it get very warm. It took me over an hour to shoot these 9 shots.

·
Registered
4,700 Posts
yes, but I never let it get very warm. It took me over an hour to shoot these 9 shots.
Was the first shot ,the one high right at the top?

·
Registered
4,138 Posts
Half a grain is a HUGE difference. Infact, .2 usually will show a measureable difference.

What time of day? Keep in mind, the way the weather is here if shooting in the morning today, I could see as much as 30* difference from one hour to the next. Though not a huge change in velocity, it will affect grouping. I have NOT loaded with Reloader 17, so I can't say if its affected by temp that much or not since I am unfamilar with the powder.

Another thing that I have saw MANY times is bad grouping from short distances. 65 yards is not very far, and it would seem like you should be easily putting them all in the same hole. But in reality, the bullet has not had time/distance to slow down and stablize out. I have saw several guns that shot poorly at 100yds, yet tightened the group at 200-300. At 65 yds, the bullet is still feeling the shake affect that occurs as it breaks the sound barrier.

·
Registered
678 Posts