Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
791 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got a 700r4 in my 92 chevy truck and I do need to rebuild it.

I have never done this before!!!

I have a 5.3 with cam setup and was thinking about installing a turbo when I do this and maybe making 600-800 hp.

I wanna rebuild the trans myself, but I dont know how and wanna make it strong enough to hold up if I go that route with the build.

If there is any advice or help ya can offer please do!

I really wanna be able to say I did this by myself!

·
Registered
6,563 Posts
GRRRR.

Had something typed out. and it deleted it. Fuck.

700 is expensive to build to be reliable at the power level you're going to make with the turbocharged motor.

I'd go the 4L80E with an aftermarket controller route, myself. A lot more durable. And there's a guy on here (Chris, I think?) that can build you a transbrake one.

Just my .05

We have to give .05 now in Canada since the penny is gone.

·
Registered
791 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
crap man trying to use what I got if I have to switch I will. The power levels I think are high, but was told build the car stronger then ya will run.

·
Registered
6,563 Posts
You can make a 700 live at that level, its just going to be pricey.

·
Registered
11 Posts
If your looking to tackle your first (and possibly only) transmission build I wouldn't start with a 700r4. I especially wouldn't attempt to build it and than throw 700+hp at it. There are company's who have been slaving over 700's thier whole careers and probably aren't comfortable at that level.

I would buy a turn key 700r4 from a qualified builder who will stand behind it at your power level (good luck finding that), break the internals in 1/2 and find out the hard way that you should have steered clear of the 700 before you even posted this thread.

If you're itching to learn, pick up a T-400 core and a manual and get started. A 400 can take that power with stock parts.

·
Registered