Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2,970 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone using them on big HP twins? How are they compared to the Tial 60mm? Any bad things?????
thanks

·
Registered
861 Posts
They were just released!! Literally no one has had a chance to even have a turbo kit fabricated around them so I don't know what all these conspiracy theories are all about.

I've never written a review before but since I have both gates sitting here I might as well put some of this conspiracy theory crap to rest. This will probably be my first and last!

In my personal opinion the Precision Turbo 66mm wastegate is a much better wastegate and here is why:

The first thing I noticed when I unboxed both pieces is that the PT gate is much bigger. It includes multiple springs, has a nut to adjust the spring pressure (something the TiAl doesn't have whatsoever). Secondly there are multiple ports on the top and bottom of the gate in easy to access areas. The top half of the gate is a v-band style (TiAL uses allen head bolts).

Secondly, I don't know why they are called a 60mm and 66mm wastegate but I measured the inlet v-band diameters and they are both smaller than their actual labels.

Tial measured:

Precision Turbo was visibly much bigger and of course measured a lot bigger:

x3 alot of them for sale...it makes ya wonder

·
Registered
861 Posts
Also I forgot to add that the PT gate has a dowel pin to locate the v-bands in a certain clock position. That way you can replace them every time in the same spot and not have to worry about how the v-band is being clocked. You can of course remove the dowel if you wanted...

The TiAl v-band clamps do look a lot nicer, the PT uses standard clampco clamps while the TiAl has a nice looking billet clamp.

·
Registered
2,970 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Thanks for input so far guys,
Big purple, please let us know what you come up with in 2 weeks, we all want to know.