Yellow Bullet Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
T/S 368E
35,296 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Ok, I'm no battery expert. 1st time out in 3 years yesterday. After charging, battery doesn't crank engine.
Let sit 15 minutes & car cranks & runs fine. Worked fine for 2 weeks while putting car back together or
I would have done something, before driving 3 hours for nothing!!. It was at 7 volts when I recharged it.
I also had to add a little distilled H2O in every cell before charging. Several guys at track say if you charge
& it has those symptoms, you have dead cell?? Battery is original style wet cell turbo start,
bought 2 weeks before they shut down ~3 years ago. Charger is a 16V industrial charger, will not charge AGM.

1st ??, is my battery junk??
2nd ?? what's a good single 16v battery, that will use a normal deep cycle/starter type battery charger.
I am not buying a new charger, no way, I love mine.

Need info & opinions asap, need to fix or order battery soon to make it here for the W/E. Thanks.

·
Registered
26,607 Posts
Try cycling it a couple of times (discharge and then charge, repeat), and see what happens. I would also check the connections.

·
T/S 368E
35,296 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Thanks Ray, I'll run the cooling to drain it down a few times. The connections are clean, tight & greased.
I cleaned & checked everything when I topped off the distilled water.

·
Registered
26,607 Posts
How much did you have to top it off? If it was a lot, like you could see an inch of plates, the battery will never make it back 100%. But if it was less than that, cycle it to about 8 volts, and trickle it back, like 3 times. It will take 24-48 hours each charge, but should bring the battery back past 90%.

·
T/S 368E
35,296 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·

Hard to tell how low it was. The wing is huge & I had to crawl in there alone & could only see when it got close to full.