Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm building an 8.50 cage for my truck, and it's my first time building a cage. I just finished bending and notching the a-pillar bars, and I wanted to get some opinions from others on the fit. They're spaced out a bit from the actual pillars, and I'm not sure if this much spacing is common, or if it just looks goofy. I'm not sure right now if I just want to leave them as is, or redo them. What would you do if it was your cage?

If I redo them, I think I'd make the dash bar intersect the front bars and weld it to the cab. If you run the dash bar like that, do the upper and lower half of the pillar bars need to be coincident where they weld to the dash bar? Is it ok to offset them and push the top half of the pillar bar out a bit?

·
Registered
222 Posts
With the gauge pod on the drivers side I think you fit it as tight as you could. If you would have brought the a post bar farther back to the a post it might have made it difficult to weld 100%. I think you did a nice job of fitting the rest of the cage to the truck's body. Looks great.

·
Registered
20,824 Posts
looks like if you weld in the right order you can lift the cab up and weld 100%

·
fabricator
1,172 Posts
Is it a street driven truck?