Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Im a Pro at being Amateur
9,638 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so i finally started trying to use my 580ex at the end of last year and learn more about it. While i did learn a little, i ate up a ton of batteries doing it. I now have 8 rechargeable batteries, which is generally fine for going to a car show, a family gathering, or small photo shoot. But doing something like shooting a race kills them fast and i dont have enough time to swap batteries, charge them, and swap again a little later. So im looking for a battery pack that is going to give me the power i need but not be a huge monster sitting up on the wall. Anyone have some good suggestions on a line of battery packs, or a company to look more into?

·
Registered
2,161 Posts
Do you want to use the power port on the side (I can't remember off the top of my head what it's called exactly, high voltage or whatever) or something to replace the AA's?

I went the DIY route, I made my own battery packs, pretty much the same as Al Jacobs black box. I think 4 of them cost about 150 total, then I got the quantum battery cables off ebay for about 20 a piece. Held up good for 2.5 yrs so far. I can give you a parts list if you are interested ..

Battery packs for hotshoe flashes are kind of annoying though if you move around, just one other thing hanging from your shoulder. I have a ton of nimh AA's for the hotshoe flash, I don't find myself changing them more than once on a busy day

·
9,638 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i think im looking for something to replace the AA's. i dont want a box hanging off my shoulder, ive seen it and doesnt look very comfortable. looking for something i can plug in to charge, plug that into the flash, and use it how i am doing now. which is just the trigger up top, receiver on the flash but have a small box next to the flash that is my power source.

·
Registered
2,161 Posts