Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I use a Speedtech 2stage diffuser plate on my SBF and run it by the book but my tune up is a fat. My car seems to run the number but been told i'm leaving alot on the table. Been told to spread the jets for cleaner tune up and better et. I need some advice on this, i'm kind of new to the tuning game, lol. I'm running a 418SBF, Yates C3 heads(flows about 400cfm and been soften), Cam Motion camshaft(780in lift, 114 lobe sep., 1050 dominator carb, 13.5:1 comp., Autolite 3933 but changing to 3932 or NGK 10, C16 fuel, and i run it on 36 degrees total timing

·
Registered
27,956 Posts
A C3 head on 36 degrees timing? How much spray and how much timing are you pulling?

What is the N/F jetting you have now and at what flowing fuel pressure?

A little more info will help a lot.

·
pig hunter
9,424 Posts
36 on a c3 headed small ford running n.o.s. did you close you eye when you did this??

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well guys to be truthful, i didn't know, i went strictly by what my mechanic suggested. This is a new combo and a huge learning curve for me, so this is why i post so many questions. So if 36 drgrees is to much, what would be a good mark to start at. Z289sec, i run my tune up by Speedtech spec. (squared up, to the fuel pressure, and what ever timing pull it calls for

·
Registered
27,956 Posts
36 on a c3 headed small ford running n.o.s. did you close you eye when you did this??

No I'm asking him if he is certain that is the static timing....just seems like a lot for a C3 headed motor. Even with the softened chambers.

Then I asked him how much nitrous and how much timing he was pulling off that 36 base, and with what jets and at what flowing fuel pressure. Since he did not include any of that info in his post.

·
Registered
27,956 Posts