Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the turbo croud so I really don't know much about them. I've had several NOS engines and like to run my cars on the street. I'm looking at building a new 69 Camaro with a 632 with a 10.5 tire on pump gas. I've got a couple of my buddies that tell me that I can really fly with either twin turbo's or a large turbo on pump gas and it be more reliable and less maintance than a naturally asperated engine pushing 10.8:1 compression. I would appreciate any help or advise or thoughts. The car is going to be a street/strip car that I want to be stupid fast and it will have the suspension to handle the power.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Im sure you may alrdy have been told to lower compression from anywhere to 8.5:1 and at the most 9:1 but many people will tell you different that is just my recommendation from all the builders i know for a turbo car, and well either you do the twins or a bigger single turbo consider looking into a metanol injection kit, so you can run a little more boost on pump gas than just with pump gas only..

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Yea I know to run less compression and was considering 8.5:1. I've already bought my heads a set of -3 Xtra Brodix. Not sure about the methanol injecton?? Like I said I'm new to this. LOL

·
Registered
62 Posts
a 632 like that will make 1500 hp on pump gas with out trying. i would think twin 88s but that is 3000hp+ hp worth of turbo... to give you a idea i just built a pump gas 502 with the shitty crate motor heads and it made 975 crank hp on 8 psi on 93 octane.. that was with baby 72mm t4s. you may also want to look into some mid frame 76s for that monster but it will make alot of power on low boost. how much power and how fast do you want to go with this thing?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #10