Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys I need some help with my next race truck motor build. I don't drag race like most of you do. I run 150ft side by side mud drags. Now with that said I'm needing to build a motor that will make 800hp and pull 15 inch of vacuum.

So here are the rules for the class I'm running.
500 cubic inches limit
cast heads
single carb.
no nitrous or anything like that
motor must pull 15 inches of vacuum
must be factory chevy block

That's where I stand with the motor part of the rules. The rest of the rules are more about the truck and tires.

Now I'm stuck between a 421/427 sbc or 496 bbc. I am new to building gas motors. always played with diesels still I started racing mud trucks. So I'm here asking for some help.

·
Registered
2,534 Posts
First post, you better go the the newb thread and introduce yourself before some of the guys crucify you for this.

·
Registered
557 Posts
Definitely go to a 496cid engine. will be much easier to reach your goal of 800HP. Also playing in the mud you will need a lot of torque. When you say cast head are you restricted to Iron or you can use Aluminium heads?

·
Registered
1,307 Posts
i would think cast would be iron heads?? if so i hope your class will let you use a set of after market iron heads ? the engines i built for some class.s will let you use a after market head . could be built with a stock iron head like a 990 but alot less time and money to buy a iron head with a better ex port

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Iron heads is the only thing we can run. I can run a aftermarket head. But I would like to keep it close to stock looking as I can. Some places are a little picky about the head stuff. I was thinking a big block was the way to go. What size heads would I need to run to get the hp I'm looking for.

·
Registered
2,018 Posts