Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm interested in building a na ls engine using a lq9 block.
I'm new to the ls scene so looking for some suggestions.

the engine will go in a 2300# with driver tube chassis car. Looking to make around 800 hp.

Is anyone using mechanical alky injection on one?
Thanks

·
Registered
280 Posts
You will have some trouble getting a "real" cylinder head for the small 4.000" bore of that block. And I think you will need a real cylinder head to reach your 800hp goal naturally aspirated. I believe there is a Kinsler injection available for the LS engines. It will take a lot of camshaft to get there and a fair amount of rpm to go with it. Check with Cary at Performance Inductions (Mast) and AllPro for a decent cylinder head. Your goal can be reached more easily if you are able to spring for an aftermarket block with at least a 4.125 bore size. A cylinder head that can make the power you are after at a lower rpm range with a longer stroke will be more reliable and ultimately cheaper in the long run. Best of luck to you.

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You will have some trouble getting a "real" cylinder head for the small 4.000" bore of that block. And I think you will need a real cylinder head to reach your 800hp goal naturally aspirated. I believe there is a Kinsler injection available for the LS engines. It will take a lot of camshaft to get there and a fair amount of rpm to go with it. Check with Cary at Performance Inductions (Mast) and AllPro for a decent cylinder head. Your goal can be reached more easily if you are able to spring for an aftermarket block with at least a 4.125 bore size. A cylinder head that can make the power you are after at a lower rpm range with a longer stroke will be more reliable and ultimately cheaper in the long run. Best of luck to you.