Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm building a '69 Camaro 25.2 Chassis...

My specs(Tim McAmis) have the chassis set at 4.5". My problem is that I can't fit 34.5 slicks with the rockers at 4.5"(No, 33" won't fit either).

My question is can or should I mount the body(rockers) 1.5" higher than the bottom of Chassis? Anyone done this? Any issues?

After the Chassis is built, I can come back and redo the outer rockers so that they are flush with the bottom of the Chassis. Just so it 'looks' better.

·
Registered
16,388 Posts
Not understanding why you can't fit your slicks? Are the tubs already in the body? Or are you running into the tops of the quarter panels?

·
Registered
1,503 Posts
I see not reason not to. But I do not see it solving your problem. I mounted mine 1" higher and am happy that I did. I am not a pro though.

·
Registered
919 Posts
I am guessing it would probably be a combination of top quarters and rear window/ window panel. Following Tim Mcamis suggestion of mounting a 47" tub 39 inches off the ground would put the tub outside the body on most cars, unless it sits like a hot wheels car in the back end or you offset the wheelbase way forward.

·
Registered
33 Posts
I can fit 33.5 on mine no problem would have to raise shocks to fit 34 or bigger do not see a need to raise body unless you didn't get tubs in correctly

·
Registered
3,538 Posts
Lots of pics, it started out as a Drag Week type build with a 540 and a F3, was originally going to be on E85 with a WTA intercooler but just recently converted to methanol with a separate fuel system for street driving, just about to make it's first pass,

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #9