Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts

·
Registered
7,292 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What the fuckity fuck ???
You guys that do home installations of Carpet, window blinds, plumbers, HVAC people all probably deal with this shit. Homeowners watching you every minute. That must really suck to deal with every day.
Me? I'm a Carpenter and most of the time, I'm doing NEW construction. In the past. I've helped out some people with their projects at home. This one old guy, nice dude....Wanted to build a carport. I've always liked the guy and respected him. He built one section of this carport in 1985 when he was still reasonably young and vital. The extension was a bit more complicated and with him being much older, he had to pay to have it built. This guy sits out on the slab and watched every move. He offered advice for the most basic of tasks. I couldn't fart without the guy getting a strong whiff of it. I am not used to having people stare at me when I work. I try to tune him out but Christ....I am trying to figure out how to build this thing and he is there to see every cut, every nail, every mistake and every correct move.
Out of respect for him and his advancing age, I'm dealing with it BUT there is no way that I could stand to do this shit full time.
I've repaired people's cars and had them sit in a chair nearby....Me getting frustrated with hard to reach bolts, greasy parts....I'm getting all pissed off but have to hold it in because THEY are right there.
What a fucking pisser.

·
Registered
332 Posts
Yeah well we just dropped 6 grand on carpet and tried to be as hands off as possible, and at the very end, trying to look the job over, they completely dicked the install and ran out of there as fast as possible, so now we gotta deal with getting them to make it right. So it goes both ways.

·
Registered
27,239 Posts
On the other hand I just let guys work and I've realized over the last few months that most of my Milwaukee tools are missing...

·