Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 153 Posts

·
Registered
423 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Figured id post this on the bullet, dont really post to much, usually just read but i figured some of you might find this really interesting.

I work for an aluminum Foundry and Production CNC shop in Muncie, IN, Phillips Patterns and Castings. We making American made parts, Im an engineer and pattern maker.

I've designed up a 671 blower and am machine the pattern right now which will be used to make casting then the castings will be machined into the final product.

Im machining the pattern right now, should have castings by next week and ill post the video hopefully by beginning of next month if anyone cares to see it.

If anyone has questions, feel free to ask.

-------------------------------------------------------------

Here is a photo of the CNC machine cutting the pattern, im cutting this in 3" layers of renwood. The layers are just super glued together then i post-process the tool paths and drip-feed it to the machine. This photo is of it doing a Z plan cut and leaving a 0.0500" machine stock.

---------------------------------------------------------------

This photo is the designed pattern i am cutting.

---------------------------------------------------------

This photo is what the finished casting will look like.

·
Registered
2,137 Posts
Looks good. WOW,SOMEBODY HAS LOTS OF TIME ON THIER HANDS.;)

·
Registered
4,721 Posts
i have an A/W from the blowershop and had the idea for the dbl core cooler that would only be 2" wider than the current case used.if you are interested in my idea i would be glad to give measurements and explane them.good luck on your project.i will be watching as it developes.

·
Registered
423 Posts
Discussion Starter #9 (Edited)
Looks good. WOW,SOMEBODY HAS LOTS OF TIME ON THIER HANDS.
This is my job :) but i love doing it and actually drew some of this model on my own time.