Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
4,135 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Victor Jr's ports are quite a bit smaller than my CNC ported heads. How much horsepower would you speculate it would be worth to open up the ports to match the heads on a 550 crank HP motor?

·
Registered
4,135 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
for the price in port work, you may be better off stepping up to a victor if you have the hood clearance.
That is the problem right there. I have a flat hood and I like it.

I have ported many sets of cylinder heads and have flow bench verification on a few pair. I have always match ported the intakes but never tested before and I after. So, I will match port the intake myself. However, I wasn't planning on doing any plenum work because I have no experience or testing with plenum work. Now if there would some tried and true plenum modifications for this particular intake that people suggested I might tackle them.

·
Registered
1,165 Posts
a friend has a 6.0LS with a set of prc heads and a edelbrock vic jr intake with a 850hp carb. i ported it for him and it picked up a solid 2 tenths and 2mph. his heads are cathedral port, and the edelbrock intake had injector bosses cast into it. I cut them down and blended them so the runner exit was smooth and didnt obstruct the top of the catherdral port. i also gasketmatched and blended the runners to his heads. i opened up the top of the runners in the plenum slightly. i left the casted in bars on the plenum floor un touched.

IM NO PROFESSIONAL PORTER!so i charged him 150$ what i did seem to work.

depending on your combo you could have more init too.

·
Registered
1,165 Posts
screw image shack click the link so see the photo

this was about 3/4 the way through blending the injector boss out.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

·
Registered
1,165 Posts