Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,288 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys I am new to ls stuff period. A friend has an LS2 that he thought had a small rod knock. They put it on the lift, pulled the pan and tried to see if there was any slop in the rods. There were a couple that were questionable, I felt a little movement. So we pulled the cap off the questionable rod and saw some wear in the bearing, but not too much. He wants to go ahead and replace all the rod bearings just to be safe. I have read on multiple forums and some say you cannot reuse the bolts and some say you can. Some say they are TTY and some say they aren't.

I just need guidance as to what to do to put these rod bearings in?? Do I reuse the factory bolts or not? Do you torque them to 15 ft lbs and then turn 75° more??

Please advise ASAP as he wants to try to reassemble this afternoon, otherwise, it may have to sit for a while.

Thanks
James

·
Registered
729 Posts
Yeah they're reusable. If I'm not mistaken, GM put out a TSB to increase the angle from 75 to 85 degrees, so even if they were TTY, they probably didn't go into yield.

·
Registered
357 Posts
The only bolts in a LS motor that are not reusable are the 11mm head bolts and the crank bolt. Everything else is good to go.

·
Registered
3,239 Posts
Some of the bolts are actually Torque to angle not Torque to yield.
This is correct. Torque turn is simply a method of fastener torquing that takes bad technique and incorrectly calibrated torque wrenches out of the equation. We use a modified torque turn method when torquing aftermarket head studs, even. Torque to yield means that you've stretched the fastener beyond the point that it's able to return to its original length when the load is removed from it. These fasteners are typically made of a softer alloy, and are designed to stretch more from the get go. I can get on GM globalconnect and show you a screenshot of the actual service procedure if you have doubts.

·