Yellow Bullet Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys, im just getting started with a new build, im building a 468 for a 67 gmc c1500 I just bought.
talked to my machinist and what we are going to do(so far) is use a factory .010/.010 undersized factory cast crank, factory resized rods with factory bolts.
781 heads that will have a 2.19 valve package and hardened seats, on the exhaust he is going to see if it was flash hardened from the factory and if it looks good it will be factory size if not it will get a new hardened seat and an upsized valve.
using cast or hyper flat top pistons at zero or .005 below deck. .039 gasket and mill the heads for a compression of 8.5 to 9:1 so I can run this thing on 87 octane gas due to prices.
factory pan but will use the nicer melting shark tooth oil pump so its nice and quiet.

my question is about cams since I want to use this thing almost daily(even in the -40c temps w get up here.
I have head rollers are not always the best idea for BBC since they wear funny, but they have the small duration n and higher lift I like.
flat tappets seem to wear better( if they don't fail) on that valve train geometry) im just worried with a soft street lobe I won't be able to get the lift where I would think I want it.

engine goals are more than 1hp per cubic inch but 500 would be awesome. and big torque way down low.
all this and only have to spin it to 5500-6000TOPS.

let me know if any of you have an opinion on this please? I have lots of time to source a cam and parts.

I will say I wouldn't mind there roller if it will make the difference in low rpm power and also the ability to run a standard oil. like a 0w40 diesel oil in the winter.

·
Registered
3,418 Posts