Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
653 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm throwing around the idea of building a 5.4L 4v with a turbo basically stock motor with whatevers recommended turbo. How much power can I make safely and any recommended parts?

·
Registered
616 Posts
It probably comes down to the rod strength in the motor. They are powdered metal. There are a lot of people making around 450 at the wheels in mod motor mustangs with a safe street tune. You can easily make that kind of power with something like a garrett 60-1 or a turbonetics 62-64mm.

·
Registered
653 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
first thanks for your reply and second if I put good rods and pistons in it how would that change things what would become the next weak link. I'm new to mod motors and turbos. Ive only dealt with bbf's

·
Registered
543 Posts
first thanks for your reply and second if I put good rods and pistons in it how would that change things what would become the next weak link. I'm new to mod motors and turbos. Ive only dealt with bbf's
which block you ganna use? But really the rods and the pistons are the weak links. What crank you ganna use?

·
Registered
269 Posts
How much power do you want to make? The forged steel cranks will support well over 1,000. With good rods,pistons,head&main studs you'll have a bottom end capable of 1,000 horsepower.

·
Registered
616 Posts
There's really no limit to what you CAN do with those engines. A built bottom end with any decent turbo around 60-70mm will support 500rwhp on 93 octane pump gas. Sullivan makes an intake manifold if you want to put it in a car. The 4 cam Navi heads are pretty good stock, but could benefit from springs and cams. The best thing to do is come up with a budget and work towards your goal in that budget.

·
Registered
653 Posts
Discussion Starter #10