Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 118 Posts

·
Registered
3,302 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Most loggers respect and are thankful for nature.....some are just ignorant.

First, I am not a logger, I am a tree farmer. That's what we do, we grow trees to be cut down for products ranging from paper to dimensional lumber. Matter of fact on this particular piece of land all of the sawlogs and poles were left on the back 50 acres. What you see in pics in the front 50 which was purposefully grown for pulpwood production. At one time there was a plantation planted that a fire took most of the trees out of, and instead of salvage harvesting the remainder of the trees the decision was made to plant back in between the survivors. This left varying age classess which made density a problem to manage. In order to reestablish a monoculture on the front 50, we went ahead and performed the clearcut. It will be wind rowed, burned, sprayed and replanted this Jan/Feb.

You can sit back and arm chair enviromentalist all you want to, but don't think iggnorance is part of the equation. If you understood forest ecology at all you would have recognized the above action as the correct measures which generate not only maximum fiber production, but is also best for the targeted wildlife species we manage for. Of course you, like so many of your liberal bretheren, simply think it looks bad without regard for what is actually going on. T

·
Registered
3,302 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
You killer, how do you sleep at night?
By knowing I spent five years to obtain the education necessary, as well as countless hours in the woods to make the best possible decisions for a sustainable forestry initiative.

·
The Media has an agenda!
25,768 Posts