Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
441 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I currently have a 1961 chev belair (4 door) which is 95 percent street car.
Car currently has
-9 inch billet axles, 3.25 gears etc
-built powerglide with PTC converter
-3.9 bore 383 LS1 with S475.

Now my mate has showed serious interest in buying the engine off me, and I have always wanted to do a BBC.
If I can do a TT BBC for roughly the price I can sell the (maybe 9g) LS1 combo for and produce approx 800rwhp on pump fuel I would love to do it!

I am completely new to the Big Block world! I have searched and searched but it seems there are a heap of different heads styles etc, tall/short blocks. 4 bolt/2 bolt.

Firstly can I do it in the price range?
I really want to do a true budget junkyard style build, and in that way of thinking I thought about this
-low rpm torque monster, nothing exotic
-4 bolt short block
-nice stock heads with some home porting and smoothing of chambers (which ones?)
-forged pistons
-H beam rods
-stud kit
-camshaft etc
-2 ebay gt45 turbos?? about 250each
-what intake?
-log turbo manifolds
-EFI

Was also thinking about keeping it EFI as I have a complete EFI system in the car except injectors. I was going to adapt the LS1 ECU to suit. Fit LS1 reluctor wheel to balancer and cam sensor in the dissy. This way I have already got the tuning software and coils etc ready to go. Then modify intake for rails and fit 90deg bend and throttle body.

Is this doable??
How would you guys set up a true junkyard/budget style BBC?
Any input greatly appreciated!!
Cheers Mark

·
Registered
9,666 Posts
My recipe.

Gen 5 454 block.
044 forged steel factory crank.
088 heads.
Good rods and pistons
My own speced cam
Pair of S475 Borg warners.

The 088 heads are 320cc stock. Good Valve job and home port work I was shooting for 400/[email protected] with them. 2.25 intake valves and 1.88 exhaust.

It takes about a 20 cc dome to get 9.3:1 compression.