Yellow Bullet Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
20,529 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If I had 2 intercoolers, lets say one is 27" x 12" x 3", and one 24 x 12 x 3, would they pretty much flow the same, just one with less cooling chamber.

·
Registered
351 Posts
I don't think size is the determining factor of restriction unless you're talking about quality units. The budget china units are a total crapshoot. I've had 3" thick china coolers work better than 4" ones from china. I presently have a 4" thick 12" x 31" china boi that I believe is worth more for scrap than intercooling lol.

·
Registered
6,280 Posts
^^^^^Bingo!! All cores are not created equal. In most cases you get what you pay for..........

·
Registered
3,574 Posts
A given size core that has a lower pressure drop, doesn't cool the charge as well as a core that has a higher pressure drop.. That applies to air to water cores as well..

Now I will admit that I am no intercooler expert.. Cause looking at a high dollar core vs an el-cheapo core.. I can't see much of a difference that would cause a huge change in efficiency.. Unless one has some kind of heat rejecting coating that I am not seeing..

·
Registered
1,610 Posts
Unless I am missing something here, in a system of fixed size, if you drop the temperature, shouldnt the pressure drop as well? PV=nRT? V, R, n are constant.... if T goes down doesnt P? Its the same reason once a turbo/blower starts getting out of its efficiency range we say its just making alot of heat. It will be making more P by increasing T instead of by increasing n.

·
Registered
18,784 Posts
Unless I am missing something here, in a system of fixed size, if you drop the temperature, shouldnt the pressure drop as well? PV=nRT? V, R, n are constant.... if T goes down doesnt P? Its the same reason once a turbo/blower starts getting out of its efficiency range we say its just making alot of heat. It will be making more P by increasing T instead of by increasing n.