Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
806 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just installed a new motor in my camaro, just a 347 with a small cam. The other day we dynoed tuned it. It did great except for running out of injector. But right as I pulled it off the dyno I quit idling properly. I replaced the iac thinking it could've went bad but that didn’t help it any. It will idle for about 2 minute if I reset the battery but then it goes back to the same deal. Right now I have the iac unplugged allowing it to idle but it’s at 1800 rpm idling. I am using hptuners but I am new to it.

·
Registered
21 Posts
You might be better off checking HPtuners forum for your answer their is a lot of good info on there if your new to it. Search the stickies.

·
Registered
354 Posts
Check all the wires on the IAC plug. I had a similar issue a few weeks ago on a customers truck. My problem was the harness had two wires that were wired wrong. Checked some manuals and found the problem. This one would idle around 1500rpms...

·
Registered
858 Posts
Do some research on datalogging and adjusting the RAF table: Engine>Idle>Idle Airflow>Base Running Airflow

Also: Engine>Idle>Idle RPM>Adaptive Idle RPM>Update RPM Err Time> change from stock 1.5 seconds to 30 seconds

Here recently I have been experimenting with open loop idle tuning according to this thread:
http://www.hptuners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5585

Good luck - idle tuning is difficult to get exactly right, but like Hunter said - make sure you first tune your VE and MAF correctly instead of just raping the PE table. Then address idle.

By the way, post some more details on your engine mods. My C5 has AFR205 heads 224/230 cam, headers and FAST 78 with 30# injectors. Maybe my tune could help you?

·
Registered
806 Posts
Discussion Starter #7