Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
1,002 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 18* degree headed 540 ci with cfe sheetmetal intake .. It has a older pro system single 1140 cfm dom on it now and I have been pondering on swapping to 2 dom's .. What will in increase hp if any and is the motor big enough to be thinking of 2 carbs ?

·
Registered
33,118 Posts
In relative terms, the dual-quad 409 Chevy and 427 Ford had about 1200 CFM on 425 HP. If you have 2300 CFM (1150 x 2) and your engine only makes 850 HP, you would have less carburetion (per HP) than a production engine in 1963.

·
Registered
1,994 Posts
I dont think the motor is big enough unless you spinning it really hard.

·
Registered
2,433 Posts
I'm going to run 2 carbs on mine but it is a 632 with 18* heads. User onefast68 on here just went from a single to dual and he picked up alot, he also has a 632 with 18* heads, maybe he will chime in and help you out. I think you will be fine because those heads work really well.

·
RED ROCKET
8,635 Posts
most say its a 40hp increase.

my experience on my 632

9.10 at 150 with a single carb intake and a 1500cfm carb
8.76 at 157 with a dart tunnel ram and 2 1200cfm pro system carbs.

was well worth it for me.

also put a lexan scoop on it,so it force feeds it with air.LOL

·
Registered
20,824 Posts
The fuel and air will both want to go straight,,,,,,, fuel distribution alone will help.

·
Registered
1,943 Posts
going from a 1150 prosystems single dominator too a tunnle ram and two prosystems 1050's on a 14:1 509. 2tenths 3mph in the blue chevelle. and it would rev soo much faster!

·
RED ROCKET
8,635 Posts
oh!we gonna post pics!here is mine.the et's above was on the motor.

·
barndoorslammer
2,368 Posts
Sorry, I'm a pic postin' ho. Your car is bad to the bone! Love the lexan scoop. I talked to the metal.man about making one for me.

·
Registered
508 Posts