Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
534 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, here is my question....63 Ford at around 3000 lbs....408 cid sbf on pump gas, 225 high ports at 10.6 to 1 compression, Wilson Manifold ported super victor, Crane Cams solid (254/258 at .050, 672 lift) into a PTC Glide......

At what point will I need more than solid motor mounts? I am expecting around 625hp at the flywheel.....I see so many using motor plates....some using ears bolted to the heads (which I have been told causes pressure on the heads)....and I need some advice on this while I am putting this thing together. If solid mounts will work then great.....and thanks for your advise.....

·
Registered
472 Posts
I am by no means an expert but I don't think you will have any issue with solid motor mounts at your HP level. In our little circle of friends there at least 5 low 9/high 8 sec cars with solid motor mounts with no issues and you can go to the track any night and see dozens of fast cars running conventional type solid motor mounts. I am not saying that there are not advantages to motor plates or that solid mounts are the only way to go but there are proven in some pretty fast cars.

·
Registered
360 Posts
My old 393 was a stock windsor block and was similar to your combo and even spraying mine, I didnt have any problems. Seen people make way more power and not have any problems either. You should be fine.

·
Registered
534 Posts
Discussion Starter #11