Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got a 180 straight cut gear glide w/ 9.5 inch ptc convertor they speced for my car. Built 6.0 turbo. Have a big derale trans cooler with fan mounted in the recessed area under passenger seat. 2002 trans am street driven . I am seeing 200- 210 degree temps. Fan is working on cooler...how hot is too hot?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

·
Banksters Paradise
7,868 Posts
I've got a 180 straight cut gear glide w/ 9.5 inch ptc convertor they speced for my car. Built 6.0 turbo. Have a big derale trans cooler with fan mounted in the recessed area under passenger seat. 2002 trans am street driven . I am seeing 200- 210 degree temps. Fan is working on cooler...how hot is too hot?

I got my manual TH400 to 220 degrees several times while doing repeated full throttle runs on the street and it didn't like it. Lots of clutch material in the pan since. Filter blocked up and was slow to engage 1st. Cleaned filter changed fluid it's working good again but with the amount of clutch that was in there i know it won't last. Part of me knew better but it was due to come out for an upgrade anyway so i was being careless.

I'd keep it under 180. Add another cooler with fan.

·
Registered
3,327 Posts
derale makes a thermal switch, 6an in and out, that turns on at 160*, works well in our index car. cooler under the seat does not sound like a good location for airflow, you need free air flow both in and out for the cooler for it to work well. our cooler is mounted upright on the wagon floor and ducted down into the fender behind the left rear wheel. the bottom of the quarter panel is open for air outlet, just have to knock the rubber off.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #7