Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
614 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well right now I'm a student at Wyotech. Been working on cars for 4-5 years now but decided to come here to help learn more to pass some ASE certifications. I'm just wondering how you get started in the automotive field? Tools cost a fortune, boxes are a fortune as well. I have some damn good knowledge and I've scored a lowest of 97.3 in my classes so I do know a thing or two.

Just wondering how you do it? How can I get a decent job without the vast amount of tools people have, especially all the specialty tools, air tools etc.?

·
Registered
580 Posts
Time is money so if you dont got the right tools for the job it might take you twice as long as someone more prepared, crappy tools brake when you are waiting for new one ones it cost u money, just a fyi co workers dont like lending there shit out either it gets old real quit, best of luck!

·
Registered
26,607 Posts
Home Depot has a 40" box for $300 and it will last you a couple of years. Tools you dont need snap on to get started, let that come down the road. The place that hires you will have the speciality tools you can borrow until you get your own.

The biggest hurdle you have to over come is your damn good knowledge and knowing a thing or two. Learn a different way to present yourself or you will never get hired. It is great to have done well in school, great to have some background knowledge, but anyone hiring you will want to retrain you to do it their way. You presently know zero about how anyone hiring you wants things to be done, which is often different place to place and from your schooling. Your knowledge will equate only to being easier to retrain. But your attitude, as it appears here, comes across like you would be difficult to to deal with and mold.

Hope you see this as constructive criticism.

·
Registered
187 Posts