Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

Relatively new here, but I've been lurking for a few months. I see all these cars with twin turbos, nitrous, etc all running nines or better.........how do you guys afford this stuff? I have a good job but if I want to build a $75,000 car its going to take me 20 years as my Chevelle has.

Do you have your own businesses, work three jobs or eat fast food every day? Do the wives support your habit or are most of you single? I have a bunch of cars, but half of them don't run or are junk.

Just looking for some thoughts.............I'm going to buy a house plus have a family soon and I'm just looking for a way to go fast and not sell all the stuff I currently own.

·
My Own Worst Enemy
3,411 Posts
I have built my twin turbo drag radial car with a whole lot of long days working my ass off . By day I am a union electrician and of an evening I sell parts . My car is paid for with all my overtime and everything I sell . My wife helps out at times but I pay her back asap . It has taken me five years but I am almost done . Good luck with your car .

·
Registered
1,375 Posts
It would help if you were working on one car instead of the SEVEN
listed in your sig. Sell six and you'll have some change to throw at the
'ol race car. In my case, I sold my business and went back to work for another guy.
Some of that income went towards the car.
Mostly you have to be willing to sacrifice something.

·
Registered
3,066 Posts
It is 10pm on a saturday night. and im at work making O/T. I live as cheap as possible to afford to build my car. Do as much of my own work as possible. I literally live at my race car shop in the office room if that gives you any clue as to my dedication to finishing my car.....

oh yeah, ONE car, not seven!

·
Grizzly
45,815 Posts