Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Beer me!!
22,507 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A friend of mine asked if I could weld some black pipe or him. I have TIG'd black pipe before, I am a certified TIG welder, so that was no trouble, but TIG will not be an option this time. I can MIG weld just fine, but have never MIG'd black pipe before. Any thoughts on wire, gas, etc.? Any advice would be appreciated, thanks!!

·
Registered
422 Posts
If your talking schedule 40 or 80, it is also available in barewall without the black coating FWIW if that's an option. I have always just cleaned off the black coating on the end or spot your going to weld, fit the pipe and pull the trigger. My Miller 212 is set with .035 wire which I use for everything, 75/25 gas and just attack it like you would any other mig job. Hope this helps.

·
Beer me!!
22,507 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
If your talking schedule 40 or 80, it is also available in barewall without the black coating FWIW if that's an option. I have always just cleaned off the black coating on the end or spot your going to weld, fit the pipe and pull the trigger. My Miller 212 is set with .035 wire which I use for everything, 75/25 gas and just attack it like you would any other mig job. Hope this helps.
This is pretty much what I had in mind. That's what I did when I TIG'd the black pipe, just ground off the coating, and welded it. I have to admit that TIGing black pipe was quite tricky, but I got it done pretty well. I have a ton of experience MIG welding in general, just never BP. I'm fairly confident it will work just like you said, thanks!!

Oh by the way, the pipe is going to be smaller than S40, not sure how much, but I do know that it will be smaller.

·
Beer me!!
22,507 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
What kind of problems did you have when you TIG'd the black pipe? I'm just curious......