Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
976 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys, prett new here to the forum and looking at a GM sportsman block P/N 12480157 for a very reasonable price. it's brand new, never been machined and am wondering if it will hold up to the power i'm hoping to make. its a 350 main w/ nodular iron 4 bolt splayed caps and 400 bore size. i have a rolled set of 18 degree brodix pontiac heads that flow right around 350 cfm's at .700" and am looking at 250-300hp worth of nitrous. looking to make 675hp on motor (w/ E85) and the extra 250-300 on the gun. think i have a shot at keeping it together? thanks for you're help.

·
DamCoonass
15,311 Posts
I would change the caps, pour it & run the snot out of it.

·
Registered
976 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
yea man, was definitely considering a fill. i guess to change the caps i could probably get them from gm and have it line bored.

·
Registered
472 Posts
if you are going to the expense of changing caps and fill a brand new block... just get a dart block. I think you will save money in the long run.

·
Registered
4,095 Posts
if you are going to the expense of changing caps and fill a brand new block... just get a dart block. I think you will save money in the long run.
X3

·
Registered
9,883 Posts
Those nodular caps willl take the Beating all day long @ that power level...........

make sure it's stud'ed..... and the rotator balanced right, and let it eat................

FWIW, you should be able to make 725++ with those heads on motor alone.......

·
Registered
4,182 Posts
Those nodular caps willl take the Beating all day long @ that power level...........

make sure it's stud'ed..... and the rotator balanced right, and let it eat................

FWIW, you should be able to make 725++ with those heads on motor alone.......
X2
Before they had all the Billet caped blocks, the sportrman block was the choice block. I would run it!

·
Registered
976 Posts
Discussion Starter #10