Yellow Bullet Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
326 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Should I boost refrence the regulator or not? Im pretty sure I have more than enough injector to get the job done at base fuel pressure and still stay under 80% duty cycle so I dont see a need. Im new to EFI so Im really not sure if I should or not.

·
Registered
326 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
OK and why is that? Not doubting your word just like to know reasoning behind it. My thought process is the computer would raise the duty cycle accordingly with the A/F ratio under boost.

·
Registered
1,001 Posts
The injector flow rating is at a certain pressure drop across the injector. If you raise the pressure in the intake manifold without raising fuel pressure, you drop the pressure across the injector and make it harder for it to spray fuel, effectively lowering the injector flow rate.

·
Registered
245 Posts
Well the short of it is you want high pressure when holding the injector open long so that the fuel sprays very atomized and finds its way into the chamber as even and fluid as it can. I know people who just run super high base pressure but that makes idling difficult. But yeah, you want to lower fuel pressure at low load or vacuum to make it easy to control the injectors - if you ran high base pressure your pulsewidth on the injector would be super duper short, which isn sometimes too short that the physical latency in the valve in the injector is incapable of moving that fast for such a short burst.

So you run low base pressure to idle, and you need high fuel requirement at high load, so raising the pressure with boost 1:1 means for every psi of boost your fuel pressure raises and the velocity of air past the injector is compensated with higher velocity fuel with better atomization into the mixture.