Yellow Bullet Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
1,419 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well unfortunately our home track was closed up last year. I've been running index stuff on a pro tree as well as pro brackets that allow t-brakes. It would give me more options if I set the car up with out the t-brake and two step. What kinds of things work good foot braking? Loose converter, ic, shock settings etc. as it sits now I've left a 2k and it's real lazy up to 4500. Doesn't seem to have consistency from 330- 660.

·
Beer me!!
22,507 Posts
Well let me just start by saying that I'm no footbrake expert, but one thing I think I was doing wrong last year was getting on the converter too hard, and caused me to red light more than I would like to. I think anyway. I'm going to try flashing it this year and see what happens. Footbraking is an art, takes much experience to master!!

·
Banned
26,908 Posts
I would bring the engine up to about 1500 RPM on the foot brake, then flash it on the last yellow. Worked real good.
Just make sure you accelerator pump is adjusted good so you dont get that stumble/hesitation from instant WOT.

·
Registered
672 Posts
also remember that when on the trans brake the suspension is at rest. when your footbraking and up on the convertor your loading the suspension and taking some of the usable travel out of it. you have to do some testing to see what the car likes.

·
Registered
5,237 Posts
I use a two step on my brake pedal with it set as high as will stand without pushing the car on the brakes,
when I release the brake I release the two step just by lifting my foot, This way it prevents over doing it and red lighting, plus it makes for a consistent launch.

·
Registered
203 Posts
I use a two step on my brake pedal with it set as high as will stand without pushing the car on the brakes,